27 February 2014

SEETA Competition - The World Poetry Day


Every year on 21 March UNESCO celebrates the World Poetry Day. A decision to proclaim 21 March as World Poetry Day was adopted during the UNESCO’s 30th session held in Paris in 1999.

According to the UNESCO’s decision, the main objective of this action is to support linguistic diversity through poetic expression and to offer endangered languages the opportunity to be heard within their communities. Moreover, this Day is meant to support poetry, return to the oral tradition of poetry recitals, promote teaching poetry, restore a dialogue between poetry and the other arts such as theatre, dance, music, painting and so on, support small publishers and create an attractive image of poetry in the media so that the art of poetry will no longer be considered an outdated form of art but one.

SEETA has decided to be part of international efforts to promote the language of poetry and, as an ELT community, is willing to contribute ideas about the role of poetry in the English language classroom.

If you use poetry in teaching or encourage students to read and/or write poetry, we would be glad if you could share your experience with us.

We warmly welcome your posters and/or videos with the accompanying lesson plan. The topic of your teaching material will be Poetry in our classroom. SEETA will publish them on the platform and the posting will be open for discussion.

You may compete in two categories:
(1)   The Best Poster
(2)   The Best Video (not longer than 3 minutes)

Your application should contain: (1) lesson plan, (2) a photo, or photos, of your poster created by students, for the category The Best Poster; a link to your video on YouTube, for the category The Best Video.

The award for the winners in each category will be a free conference fee for their TA's next annual conference. The award will not include travel and accommodation costs.

Please submit your material to the SEETA Projects Corner at seeta.poetryday@gmail.com  not later than 10 March 2014 (23:59 CET). The winners will be announced on 21 March 2014.

No comments:

Post a Comment